Tags

, , ,

This morning I decided to delete the philosophical and medical anthropology categories on the blog. My reasoning is that many of my posts contain elements of both of these anyway and from a category–theoretic point of view, one could argue that having these categories is redundant, given the overall flavour of what I am interested in writing and talking about.

I have been looking back and reflecting on what I have chosen to write on a day-to-day basis following the Dave Wardman 90 day blog challenge. Looking at the current categories, a purist may claim that photography very fairly belongs as a subcategory of technology. I would agree with this and have only separated photography out because so many of my musings are about this interesting activity. I see that I have three main interests in technology: computing devices, tools used for listening to the sounds of different kinds or recording sound, and devices used for seeing or recording things that we see. Accordingly photography stands as a category on its own, and I may add one for the aural side in the future.

The weather and the light over the last week have not favoured photography. It has been bitterly cold and either raining or extremely overcast. The cameras that I am favouring presently (the NEX 6) can operate in quite low light levels but the person behind the viewfinder in this instance is the constraint against photographing out in this kind of weather!

I have two very interesting lenses coming sometime this week or perhaps next. One is a 35mm ƒ2.5 Color Skopar are made by Cosina Voigtländer. The latter part of the name belongs to the very famous German photography company from many many years ago and it is licensed to the Japanese lens manufacturer Cosina. The other lens is one of the world’s most compact extending lenses, also the same focal length of 35mm but with a slower ƒ stop of 3.5. It is version one of the MS-Optical “Perar”.

On the NEX 6 APS-C sized sensor, both of these lenses produce a field of view that is roughly equivalent of the human eye, and in 35mm photography terms, roughly equivalent to 50 mm or standard lens. Having been a photographer for over 30 years I find that the 45 to 55 mm field of view to be the way that most closely approximates how I see. Another advantage of fixed focal length lenses is that the optical quality is high and the fact that they cannot zoom makes you see the world differently. Photographers like myself employ what’s usually called “sneaker zoom”: to get a closer to what you want to frame, you walk closer and to get wider, you you walk further away! This is simple approach and work for a long time and it has a tendency to overcome the inertia of modern photography. Images to come.