Tags

, , ,

I am liking very much the images that are coming off the NEX 6 fitted with the Cosina Voigtländer 35mm ƒ2.5 lens. Here is one from the kitchen, the pot I use the most in my cooking (presently a new recipe for chile con carne):

Saucepan lid closeup: beauty in daily life!

Saucepan lid closeup: beauty in daily life!

This image used the Hawk’s helicoid Leica M to NEX mount adapter, which has the great benefit of allowing a much closer minimum focal distance (the CV 35/2.5’s minimum distance is about 0.7m; the Hawk’s gets you to about .3m, so significantly closer).

And a couple more from the daily walk, shot the day following the first images:

Water Tank, closer view, and light on the hills

Water Tank, closer view, and light on the hills

When I look at these landscapes on a large, calibrated monitor, I see all kinds of lens aberrations: soft towards the edges, barrel distortion, and chromatic aberrations (“CA”) too, but I don’t care; this might be a first for me. When I look at the image above, that’s how I saw it—I have had a very large number of cameras that are capable of technically better images, but this combination simply produces images I like the look of. Who’da thought?

And the last one today:

the valley in mist

the valley in mist

This is not full size, so will not enlarge that much, but this should be enough to get the idea. More to come.