And I have been playing with a tilt adapter and an excellent 50mm manual focus lens, the Olympus OM 50/3.5 macro, and all on the NEX 6.

A few shots from yesterday evening:

Miss O

Miss O

It’s not obvious, probably, but I have used a few degrees of reverse tilt, and focussed on her R eye; the result is her lips are out of the sharp zone (this is what reverse tilt does) and even though the OM 50/3.5 is a slow lens (ƒ3.5) it can make a nice portrait where the eyes become the centre of the attention.

Double rainbow

Double rainbow

This is simply a case of having a camera with me (pretty much at all times) and one of the reasons I like the NEX 6: light enough for everywhere carry. No tilt for this one, just ƒ5.6.

I need to head off to the workshop now, but more images to come and in the meantime, have a look at the Scheimpflug effect Don’t let the maths scare you: I will show this principe in images. Basically, the S. effect is about controlling the zone of acceptable sharpness in an image; you can make it infinitely deep, or very shallow.