Tags

, , , , , ,

I mentioned a few days ago that I have been experimenting with a hundred-dollar manual focus lens on a tilt adapter, and that using the adapter a certain way lent itself to portraiture. See this extreme image of my good friend Graeme, taken as a test over lunch. No sharpening or any other colour/contrast changes have been made; and (as the jargon on the photography user’s groups has it) this is “SOOC” (straight out of camera):

Graeme, focus his L eye, and too much reverse tilt
Graeme, focus his L eye, and too much reverse tilt

Graeme has piercing eyes, and this is what I wanted in the image. I used the full amount of 8 degrees of reverse tilt, and as a result, the effect of extremely shallow depth of field is too extreme, but you can see the effect.

The next pair of images contrasts the effect of tilt combined with deep DOF vs. the same tilt with shallow (small ƒ number) aperture:

Effects of tilt and ƒ11 (stopped down, in other words)
Effects of tilt and ƒ11 (stopped down, in other words)

In this image, I used tilt to get the rims of the glasses both in focus, from front to back of the image, and used a small aperture to “thicken” the depth of this in-focus slice. See how the coasters and table-top grain are visible?

Compare with the image below: the rims of the glasses are still sharp, but the slice of sharpness (which has been tilted like the image above so that the plane includes the rims of both glasses) drops off rapidly and the transition to OOF (our of focus) is soft and beautiful. What do you think, and which do you prefer?

Effect of tilt and wide open (ƒ3.5) aperture
Effect of tilt plus wide open (ƒ3.5) aperture

The next image is simply uno graffito; I liked the colour and the shape, and only realised what the word spelled later.

Graffito I 008

When I hear the word “fag”, the image below is what comes to mind; one of the advantages of using the OM 50/3.5 on the NEX 6 is that it is a true macro lens as well, and it can focus down to half life size—and I so often use this capacity.

Still life on the streets of Melbourne:

Fag, version I

Fag, version I